Chieftain for the Day

The Bundanoon Highland Gathering is delighted to announce that for their 41st Annual Gathering the Chieftain of the Day will be:

Mr Warren Glase D.Ua

Warren Glase- Chieftain of the Day

Warren is a Past President of the committee, and the decision to select Warren as Chieftain of the Day was in recognition of his outstanding long and dedicated service to Brigadoon and his commitment to the local community.

Bio for Chieftain of the Day 2018

Warren joined the Brigadoon Committee in 1986, and was the Gates Coordinator. He was the President of the St Paul’s Primary School’s Parents and Friends and the parents saw that Brigadoon would be a good avenue of raising funds.

It did not take long for him to become heavily involved with and committed to the aims of this strong community based organisation.

In 1987, Warren became one of the committee’s Vice-Presidents and in 1989 was elected President. He held that position from 1989 until the AGM of 2014, a period of twenty-four enjoyable years.

During his presidency the committee raised in excess of $1 million dollars.

The money  has been dispersed amongst local community groups who  support Brigadoon by volunteering their time and also has been used to improve conditions at the Oval Improvements include terracing, seating, drainage, lights, the shelter area and the Memorial Gates.

He has always admired and appreciated the generosity of the local groups in working for this great community event that celebrates both Scottish culture and the contribution made by Scots to our nation.

He has enjoyed the company and friendship of many men and women, who have given their time and energy to this National and International event.

It is the combined efforts of these people that has made the Bundanoon is Brigadoon Highland Gathering the great family event that it is today. It is truly an event to be proud of.

During some of his Brigadoon time, Warren also served as President of Chevalier College’s Parents and Friends from 1991 to 1996.

Before working with Brigadoon and the school communities, Warren was involved in Apex Clubs in Wellington, Gilgandra, Young and West Wyalong and then Lions Clubs, in Balranald, Moss Vale and Robertson. He has also had many years of involvement in the local Australian Labor Party, being at times the President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer.

Warren is a retired State School Principal. He has taught in and led many schools, including Burrawang, Buxton and Thirroul.

He met his wife Dawn, also a retired teacher when they were both working at Balranald Central School. They have three daughters, Kathryn, Sharon and Louise.

In 2006, Warren was awarded the Duine Uasal award by the Celtic Council of Australia, for services to the Celtic community. He was delighted to be made a Life Member of the Bundanoon Highland Gathering in 2015.


















Past Chieftain of the Bundanoon Highland Gathering Inc.

  • 1978 Robert Smith (deceased)
  • 1979 Colin Sinclair
  • 1980 Ray Thorburn OAM NSW Rep for AAGRA
  • 1981 David Scotland OAM, BEM, CyC, PHF (deceased)
  • 1982 Stanley Hardy
  • 1983 Bruce Menzies
  • 1984 Harry MacDonald (deceased)
  • 1985 Rosemary Nicholson Samios
  • 1986 Malcolm Broun QC (deceased)
  • 1987 The Lord Forres
  • 1988 William MacLennan Chieftain of the Clan MacLennan (deceased)
  • 1989 William W Broun (deceased)
  • 1990 Fr. Peter Lamont
  • 1991 Angus Graham (deceased)
  • 1992 Garry Barnsley OAM
  • 1993 Greg MacLennan
  • 1994 The Lady Kirstie Saggers
  • 1995 Iain MacNeacail (deceased)
  • 1996 Dr. Ian Cameron (deceased)
  • 1997 Sir William W Broun (deceased)
  • 1998 Peter Alexander
  • 1999 Alexander McPhie, Commander of Clan MacFie
  • 2000 Sir William MacPherson of Cluny, Chief of Clan MacPherson
  • 2001 William Green OAM (deceased)
  • 2002 Alistair Guthrie Davidson of Davidston,, Chief of Clan Davidson (deceased)
  • 2003 The Lady Kirstie Saggers, Chieftain of Clan Graham, Australia
  • 2004 Malcolm Murray 12th Earl of Dunmore
  • 2005 Torquil Donald MacLeod of the Lewes
  • 2006 John MacNeacail of MacNeacail & Scorrybreac
  • 2007 Rt. Hon. Helen Liddell, British High Commissioner to Australia
  • 2008 Mr John Stewart, CEO National Australia Bank
  • 2009 Dr Frank Davidson, High Commissioner of Clan Davidson, Australia
  • 2010 Susan Cooke High Commissioner of Clan Lindsay, Australia
  • 2011 Nerida Barnsley OAM
  • 2012 Bruce Finlay, High Commissioner Clan Farquharson Australia
  • 2013 The Hon, Jamie Sempill, 21st Lord Sempill, Chief and Name in Arms of Sempill.
  • 2014 Valerie Cairney cyc, Editor The Scottish Banner
  • 2015 Norman Alexander Macdonald High Commissioner Clan Donald Australia
  • 2016 Carol Budlong President of Scottish House
  • 2017 Jimmy Barnes: Scottish-born Australian rock singer-songwriter